The student are assessed for their skills, understanding, questioning, and creativity thinking for every term.


The central Board of Secondary Education has introduced the scheme of Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation in its schools in a phased manner for classes up to class X.

In general, for the purpose of the CCE, the academic year is divided into two terms. The first term will be from April – September and the second term from October – March.

The CCE in classes is intended to provide holistic profile of the learner through evaluation of both Scholastic and Co-Scholastic areas spread over two terms in a year. Evaluation of Scholastic areas: Each term will have two Formative assessments and one Summative assessment for evaluation.


Type of assessment Percentage of weightage in an academic session Month
I to V VI to VIII IX & X
FA1 10% 10% 10% April/June-July
FA2 10% 10% 10% July – Aug.
SA1 30% 30% 30% Sep
FA3 10% 10% 10% Nov –Dec
FA4 10% 10% 10% Jan. – Feb
SA2 30% 30% 30% Mar.

With a view to have uniformity in formative assessments, weightages are given to each and every category of assessment tools. According to the revised scheme of CCE, the assessment in all co-scholastic areas/activities is to be done on 5 point scale. Besides, the total domains of assessment in co-scholastic areas/ activities are also slightly modified. Consequently, the maximum grade points which a student can obtain in co-scholastic areas/activities become 65. The table given below compares the earlier scheme and the revised scheme of assessment in co-scholastic areas/ activities.


Grade points in Co-scholastic Areas/Activities (Earlier scheme) Grade points in Co-scholastic Areas/ Activities (Revised Scheme)
01. Life skills 3X5=15 3X5=15
02. Work Education -- 1X5= 5
03. Visual & Performing Arts -- 1X5= 5
04. Attitude & Values 5X3=15 4X5=20
05. Co-curricular activities 2X3= 6 2X5=10
06. Health & Physical Education 2X3= 6 2X5=10
Total 42 65


(a) To qualify in a subject under Scholastic Areas, a candidate must obtain minimum of Grade D.
(b) Those candidates who have obtained Grade E1 or E2 in the subjects under Scholastic Areas shall have to improve their performance to qualify the subject(s).


Scholastic Areas (Grading on 9 point scale)

Marks Range Grade Grade Point
91-100 A1 10
81-90 A2 9
71-80 B1 8
61-70 B2 7
51-60 C1 6
41-50 C2 5
33-40 D 4
21-32 E1 ---
20 and below E2 ---